— El Diablo's Social Club

March, 2012 Monthly archive

The heat is growing on a new set of Neil Diablo edits released this week on Kat Records.  The limited EP, available now from Piccadilly Records, features four hard-to-find tracks given the classic Diablo stretch-aaaaand-relax treatment.

Kicking things off is ‘Cannae Believe’, an Italo / New York dubbed out-disco slo-mo electro-disco cut with synth stabs and ‘Love Is The Message’-esque pads.  Next up is ‘Disco Special’, a ‘walking’ mid-tempo melter which drops guitar-led Balearica, funky bass, arpeggiated synths, syncopated hand claps and space toms a-plenty before lifting off into string-filled ecstasy.

On the flip we have ‘For Your Love’ is a slinky 2-step soul gem originally released in 1982 by the Fats Gaines Band and featuring sublime vox by Zorina. Stretched, diced and strung beautifully back together, this has summer anthem written all over it. Finishing things off is ‘Christina Debs, Behind Bars”.  Originally out on Ze Records and produced in Detroit by Don Was in 1984, this  nu-wave disco chugger adds another dimension to proceedings and this EP feels all the mightier for it.

Rave reactions from the likes of Dave Harvey, Ashley Beedle, Huw Morgan, Tristan da Cunha, Andy Wilson, Jim Baron aka Ron Basejam, Bonar Bradberry, Red Rack ‘Em, Andy Ash, Sean Brosnan, Kev Beadle, and many more.

Buy here NOW!


Read More
20052005DANIEL WANG2005 2005DANNY WEBB

FLYERS, a set on Flickr.

Welcome to our EDSC flyers archive. There are still a few missing, but we will track them down soon!

You can share your memories of individual nights in the comments box below each image.

Read More

Spring is here again, tender age in bloom. And how do we know? Because the ever-prolific Neil Diablo has put together another change-of-season mix CD for gentlemen’s couturier du jour, the wonderful TukTuk clothing. Plotting a fathoms-deep and distinctly nautical course through Balearic groovers old and new, this meditative blend will take you where you need to go, NYCE & SLO. Nicolas Jaar, one of the undisputed stars of 2011, opens the set with his new Darkside alias, before John Martyn’s classic ‘Dealer Version’ and Todd Terje’s ‘Myggsommer’ steer us into gently pacier territory. Fold in a bit of Ta’Boo, Linda Di Franco and Al Usher, and you have the perfect accompaniment to a nap on the bow.

TukTuk Summer is a limited edition and comes handily housed in a denim fabric pocket with button fastening.

Available from Piccadilly Records now.

01. Darkside – Darkside
02. Someone – Beat
03. Lil Louis – Nyce & Slo
04. Quintus Project – Night Flight (Lexx Edit)
05. Tiedye – Fisherman’s Bend
06. John Martyn – Dealer Version
07. Todd Terje – Myggsommer
08. New Look – Nap On The Bow
09. Ta’boo – Over The Ledge (Rub Dub)
10. Linda Di Franco – My Boss
11. Al Usher – Lullaby For Robert
12. Born Blonde – Radio Bliss (Seahawks Everything So Green Mix)

Read More